Our Candidates


The 45th Ward Independent Democrats spent countless hours over the course of several weeks interviewing candidates for nearly every national, state and local race appearing on the ballot this election cycle. We take seriously our responsibilities to the process of endorsing candidates that we – and 45th Ward residents – can be proud of. Yesterday, we introduced you to our judicial candidates. Today, we are telling you about the candidates we support for the Illinois State Legislature and the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District.



  • [no endorsement at this time]


Secretary of State

  • Jesse White (Unopposed)


Attorney General

  • [no endorsement at this time]


  • Susana Mendoza (Unopposed)


  • Michael Frerichs (Unopposed)

Cook County President

  • Toni Preckwinkle (Unopposed)

Cook County Clerk

  • Karen Yarborough (Unopposed)


  • Tom Dart

Cook County Assessor

  • Fritz Kaegi


  • Maria Pappas

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District

  • Debra Shore
  • Kari Steele
  • Marty Durkan
  • Kim DuBuclet – 2 year term

Board of Review

  • Michael Cabonargi – District 2 (Unopposed)
  • Larry Rogers Jr – District 3 (Unopposed)